Two lessons learned today

Wills_RED1I’m putting little things out for anyone’s information that can use it – I picked up two things today I didn’t know yesterday.

  1. In the state of California, you cannot sell a car before 41 days after the owner’s death. Why 41 days? I have no idea, but I tried to transfer title to Mom’s car and was told I needed to way 41 days. It was not in the trust, so all they need is a copy of the death certificate. No problem. By the way, AAA will do this for you instead of going to the DMV.
  2. Someone reliable I trust completely tells me that if Mom had listed me as co-trustee I wouldn’t have to wait to become Successor Trustee. Interesting. Wonder why that wasn’t done? Is it because maybe co-trustees have to both sign checks? I don’t know, but it’s something to think about and ask your attorney if you have a trust.

That’s it for today.

 

Leave a Reply

