FEAR

fear“Fear is always with us but we just don’t have time for it. Not now.”

Hillary Rodham said those words in her graduating speech more than forty years ago. They are more important now.

I remember a book written about thirty years ago (I’m aging myself) entitled “Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway.” I’ve tried to live by that credo, mostly successfully, but understand the reluctance to not get into something that may be scary or have dire consequences if it goes badly.

For those who follow me, it’s pretty clear how I feel about the election, but I have to admit I’m in fear that my taxes will be audited! I’m kidding, but I can’t help but think there may be some repercussion from my broadcasting, and being involved in, groups that are formed for resistance.

The women’s march last week was more than inspiring. All those women who gathered together to send a message, spending time and money and possibly losing some income for the day just to make a statement in the cold in countries all around the nation – and the world.

No matter how you feel about the election, it’s a pretty cool thing that this happened and that it was so successful. By most accounts, more people came together  that day than  came to the inauguration. And that says something. It could have been a terrible experience with people getting hurt and fighting breaking out in this uncertain time with emotions running so high.

But no. Women came together, peacefully, and sent a message that we are not to be trifled with. That we are watching. That we are a force to be reckoned with. That this new administration will be held accountable. That we count.

I saw women of all ages, and I was proud of each and every one of them, taking the chance, making the trip, and making a strong statement about how they felt women were being treated.

Be brave. Stay strong. Speak your mind. Feel the fear, but do it anyway.

Leave a Reply

