The Making of a Star

dual-web-logo-new-website_1472159572456_3583816_ver1-0It’s amazing what you get if you just ask. Feeling a bit peckish a month or so ago (hello, election), I felt it was time to do something big – really big – to get myself out there and promote me and my book.

So I called our local CBS station and asked if anyone would like to interview a debut novelist.

They said yes.

O.M.G.

Now I have to perform. Whscreen-shot-2017-01-03-at-11-18-45-amat do I say? Will I choke? What in the world would the audience want to hear from me? My book is – meh – how in the hell am I going to promote something I feel good about, but could have been better?

Here’s how. Just do it and let the chips fall where they may. And understand that what you think is – meh – is probably not.

I practiced all day with sound bites I thought would work. I had it down. I owned this.

Then I walked into the lobby and sat with a man who would be interviewed either before or after me. He was so confident, so relaxed, and so…I don’t know…used to it. He had this. He would do his three minutes and go home.

These three minutes were important to me. I couldn’t be that cavalier about it.

Or could I?

The adventure continues…

The full interview will be posted here after I reveal more of my experience. If you just can’t wait, go to my website.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

